Museum

MUCA

We believe that art has the potential to change the perception on the world. It is our goal to provide space for such a young and transient form of art, in which street and urban art engage in a dialogue with other genres of contemporary art, establishing an atmosphere of synergy, inspiration and creative openess.

As the place to be for urban and contemporary art lovers, MUCA offers a high- profile exhibition program. On several “art experience levels” art works of renowned, internationally celebrated artists can be found throughout the museum. In addition to that MUCA provides a platform for experimental formats and outstanding in- and outdoor art projects.

The museum not only seeks to include urban art into the contemporary art discourse and to exhibit a young form of art. A special focus is set on art education. Exhibitions are accompanied by an extensive program of lectures, high-profile speakers, and guided tours.

PHILOSOPHY

Street art as a form of art of the 21st century is rightly considered as a global celebrated phenomenon, nevertheless street art hasn’t arrived enough in the art discourse. The newly built Museum of Urban and Contemporary Art (MUCA) wants to make a change by enrolling street art into art history and by building a bridge between the international art scene, artists and the public.

The idea of MUCA is to bring art and its people together to a place of self- reflection, with the main question of what a visionary museum stands for. The heart of the museum is the community which we invite to become part of the creative process and to look behind the scenes of our exhibitions.

Gallery

Das Museum

MUCA

Wir glauben daran, dass Kunst das Potenzial hat, die Wahrnehmung auf die Welt zu verändern. Es ist unser Ziel, für eine junge und zugleich vergängliche Kunstform Räume zu schaffen, in denen Street- und Urban Art im Dialog mit anderen Genres der zeitgenössischen Kunst steht, sich gegenseitig befruchtet und zu neuen Erkenntnissen führt.

Das MUCA als Begegnungsstätte für Urban und Contemporary Art besticht durch eine hochkarätige Ausstellungsprogrammatik. Auf mehreren „Kunsterlebnisebenen“ sind im MUCA nicht nur die Werke renommierter, international gefeierter Künstler zu sehen, uns ist es ebenfalls ein Anliegen, experimentellen Formaten und interessanten Positionen eine Plattform zu bieten.

Das MUCA versteht sich nicht nur darin, Urban Art in den zeitgenössischen Kunstdiskurs einzufügen und eine junge Kunstform zu musealisieren. Ein besonderes Augenmerk liegt auf der Kunstvermittlung. Die Ausstellungen werden durch ein umfangreiches Programm mit Künstler- und Expertengesprächen, Lesungen und Führungen begleitet.

PHILOSOPHIE

Streetart als Kunstform des 21. Jahrhunderts gilt zu Recht als global gefeiertes Phänomen, ist jedoch noch immer zu wenig im Kunstdiskurs angekommen. Mit ihrem Programm möchte das MUCA Streetart in die Kunstgeschichte einschreiben und eine Brücke zwischen dem internationalen Fachpublikum, Künstlern und der Öffentlichkeit schlagen.

Bei der Konzeption des Museums ging es uns stets darum, Kunst und ihre Menschen an einen Ort zu bringen, der sich selbst fragt, was ein visionäres Museum leisten muss. Als Herzstück des Museums fungiert die Gemeinschaft, die wir am Musealisierungsprozess teilhaben lassen.

Impressionen